Exploring the Trim Levels for the All-New 2019 Honda Insight

Honda Insight

The new 2019 Honda Insight will be offered in the LX trim level, the EX trim level, and the Touring trim level. This new Honda sedan offers class-leading power and class-leading space to consumers interested in the compact hybrid market. The unique two-motor hybrid drive-train design allows the Insight sedans to operate without the need for a traditional automatic transmission.

2019 Honda Insight Hybrid

Each trim level comes equipped with in-line four-cylinder engines with 16-valve DOHC i-VTEC that produce 107 horsepower and 99 lb-ft of torque. All trims come equipped with the 3-Mode Drive System, port fuel injection and an AC synchronous permanent-magnet electric motor that produces 129 horsepower and 197 lb-ft of torque. The total engine system for each trim level produces 151 horsepower.

Honda Insight LX

The LX is the base trim for the Honda Insight. Most specs for the three trims are identical, and the LX trims offer many of the same features as the higher trims. Some of the engineering systems on-board all trim levels include the Eco Assist system, Hill Start Assist, the Immobilizer system and the electric parking brake with automatic brake hold. For comfort and convenience, the automatic climate control system is standard in the LX and the EX.

The suspension components, engine components, exterior measurements, fuel ratings, active safety measures, passive safety measures and driver-assistive technology features are the same across all trim levels. Most of the driver information interface features are the same for all trims as well. Audio and connectivity features unique to the LX trim include the 160-watt audio system with six speakers and a 5-inch color LCD screen.

Honda Insight EX Trim

The EX trim does offer the remote start and the smart entry with walk away auto-lock feature that comes with the EX and Touring trims. The EX is the lowest trim offering Honda LaneWatch feature and LED fog lights. LED fog lights are available, but they do not come standard with this trim. Much like the LX, the driver's seat is fitted with a manual height adjustment, and similarly to the Touring model, the fold-down rear seatback is a 60/40 spli


The EX trim comes equipped with a 180-watt audio system featuring eight speakers. The EX and Touring trim levels also feature an 8-inch high-resolution touchscreen audio display with hard keys, a knob, and customizable feature settings. HondaLink, Apple CarPlay, Android Auto, Sirius XM Radio and SMS text messaging are also standard with the EX trim.

Honda Insight

Honda Insight Touring

With the Touring trim, the heated, body-colored power side mirrors are equipped with LED turn indicators and chrome accents. There are also chrome accents on the body-colored door handles as well. The variable intermittent windshield wipers on the Touring trim models are rain-sensing. Unlike the two lower trim levels, LED fog lights come standard with the Honda Insight Touring sedan. The one-touch power moonroof with tilt feature is also unique to the Touring trim model.

Some of the comfort and convenience features only offered with the Touring trim level include the HomeLink Remote System, dual-zone automatic climate control system, and the automatic-dimming rear-view mirror. Heated front seats, 8-way power adjustment for the driver's seat, 4-way power adjustment for the front passenger and leather-trimmed seats are features unique to the Touring trim level. In addition, the Touring trim level also offers mobile hotspot capability as well.

You can contact or visit the Bell Honda dealership if you'd like to learn more about the exploring the trim levels for the all-new 2019 Honda Insight.

Categories: Insight
Tags: Features